WHERE THE REZ MEETS THE VIRTUAL WORLD …

Network Drops, Databases, Snowstorms, OHMY!

This has been a very busy week for me.  I spent the weekend in Onion Lake visiting with my brother since it was his birthday on Friday.

Well, it’s busy in general, but that’s life these days.

This week though … IT SNOWED.  Crazy lots!  The weather sites say it snowed about 15-20cm (3-4″ for those of you south of the border).  And it’s still snowing.  It will probably snow a bit more throughout the day, with it tapering off a bit by tonight.  Oi.

But before the snow, I got to do a network drop on Monday which was awesome.  I haven’t the opportunity to do that in a long time.  We ran cable from the server cabinet to the room, installed a wall jack, punched down the line, and made cable ends.  Pretty sweet.  I even got to use the power drill for a bit.  The worst part, though, was running the cable through the ceiling.  Those tiles drop all sorts of crap on your face and hair.  Ugh.  We have safety goggles, but still.  Ew.

And then the storm hit, so we have been office bound since then.  I have gotten a lot of paper work done since then.  I am in the middle of training people on inputting DRA data and attendance on Open Office, using SMART Notebook for the SMART Board, and using the new email system.  Then on top of all that, there’s the regular hardware repair and software maintenance I do.

I love my job.  :D

Which I should probably get back to.  Haha  I mostly just wanted to share the fun snow times.  (Already, I’m certain we’ve had more snow in the past 2 days than we did all of last winter!  Not even an exaggeration which I am prone to do.)

ETA: I just spent my morning and part of the afternoon climbing around IN the ceiling running cable for our new enterprise level access point!  Aside from the insane amount of dust, it was aaaaaaaawesome.  I even got to use the headlamp and walkie talkie.  lol  Best week EVER!  XD

2 responses

  1. Jenn

    You are so funny. In our drop ceiling tiles we have cockroach parts, dust and other crap.

    October 24, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  2. Jenn

    Knock Knock, it’s your blog again! There is only one day left of the year and you have abandoned me for many months now. I iz sadz on this review of the year. :-( Pleaze come back and visit!

    December 30, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Leave a comment